THE VIRTUAL MUSEUM OF KHMER ART
GLOSSARY

 

 

     
 
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 
     
  Sadashiva: In Tantra-Hinduism the Supreme Beeing, the eternal Shiva whose five aspects (the five elements) are manifested in one form. An inscription from Phnom Sandak entitles him "Sadesha", the Eternal Lord.  
  Samabhanga: Iconographic pose (equal distribution of the body limbs on a central line).  
  Samadhi (Sanskrit, समाध) [the fixing]): A state of conciousness finishing the discursive thinking by complete meditation. In Hinduism and in Buddhism there are different levels of Samadhi.  
  Samadhi Buddha: The enlightend Budda.  
  Samsara (Sanskrit, m., संसार [to wander]): In Hinduism and Buddhismus the eternal circle of life and death. The circle of reinacarnation or rebirth.  
  Sampot (Khmer: sampot can phin): A lower-body, wrap around cloth The sampot dates back to the Funan era when a Cambodian king ordered the people of his kingdom to wear the sampot.  
  Sarong: In strict usage, [Malay, sheath] denotes the lower garment worn by the Malay people.  
  Shakti (Sanskrit, शक्ति) [sacred force, power, energy]): The Hindu concept or personification of the divine feminine aspect, sometimes referred to as 'The Divine Mother'. Shakti represents the active, dynamic principles of feminine power. However, in other Hindu traditions, Shakti embodies the active energy and power of male deities.  
  Shakyamuni Buddha: Title of Buddha (Sanskrit, m., बुद्ध )The Sage of the Shakya Clan  
  Shiva (Sanskrit, िशव) [the Auspicious one]): One of the principal deities of Hinduism. Within Shaivism he is viewed as the Supreme deity, whereas in other branches of Hinduism he is worshipped as one of the six manifestations of the Divine. Another way of thinking about the divinities in Hinduism identifies Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva as each representing one of the three primary aspects of the divine in Hinduism, known collectively as the Trimurti.  
  Siddhi (Sanskrit, Pl., सिद्धिः)[accomplishment, attainment, or success]): The term is used for spiritual power in Hinduism and Tantric Buddhism.  
  Surya (Sanskrit, सूर्य) [the Supreme Light]): In Hinduism the chief solar deity. In Hindu religious literature, Surya is notably mentioned as the visible form of God that one can see every day. Furthermore, Shaivites and Vaishnavas often regard Surya as an aspect of Shiva and Vishnu, respectively. The Vedas mention Surya as the personifcation of the sun.  

© 2004-2017

DAS VIRTUELLE MUSEUM DER KHMER-KUNST
GLOSSAR

 

 

     
 
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 
     
  Sadashiva: Im Tantra-Hinduismus das Höhere Wesen, der ewige Shiva, dessen fünf Aspekte (die fünf Elemente) in einer Form manifestiert sind. Eine Inschrift vom Phom Sandak nennt ihn "Sadesha", den Ewigen Herrn.  
  Samabhanga: Standposition in der indischen Ikonographie (gleiche Ausrichtung der Gliedmaßen in einer zentralen Linie).  
  Samadhi(Sanskrit, समाध) [das Fixieren, Festmachen]): Ein Bewusstseinszustand, der über Wachen und Träumen hinausgeht und in dem das diskursive Denken aufhört. Im Hinduismus und Buddhismus existieren verschiedene Grade von Samadhi.  
  Samadhi Buddha: Der erleuchtete Buddha.  
  Samsara (Sanskrit, m., संसार [stetiges Wandern]): Im Hinduismus und Buddhismus der ewige Kreislauf von Entstehen und Vergehen. Kreislauf der Wiedergeburten.  
  Sampot (Khmer: sampot can phin): Kurzes Hüftgewand. Das Sampot enstand wohl in der Funan-Ära zurück. Ein König soll die Anordnung erlassen haben, daß die Untertanen seines Reiches dieses Kleidungsstück tragen sollten.  
  Sarong: Ursprünglich Bezeichnung des Hüftgewandes, das in Malaysia getragen wird [Malayisch: sheath]  
  Shakti (Sanskrit, शक्ति) [Macht, Kraft, Energie]): Die Hindu-Konzeption der Personifizierung des weiblichen göttlichen Aspekts, manchmal unter Bezug auf die "Göttliche Mutter". Shakti respräsentiert das aktive, dynamische Prinzip der weiblichen Kraft. In anderen Hindu-Traditionen umfaßt Shakti auch die aktive Energie der männlichen Götter.  
  Shakyamuni Buddha: Ehrentitel des Buddha (Sanskrit, m., बुद्ध ) Der Weise aus dem Geschlecht der Shakya.  
  Shiva (Sanskrit, िशव) [der Gütige]): Ein Hauptgott im Hinduismus.Im Shaivaismus wird er als oberste Gottheit angesehen, während andere Zweige in ihm eine der sechs Manifestationen des Göttlichen sehen. Er wird auch mit Brahma und Vishnu als Teil der Trimurti gesehen, von denen jeder einen der drei göttlichen Aspekte darstellt.  
  Siddhi (Sanskrit,Pl., सिद्धिः) [Fähigkeiten, Leistung, Erfolg]): Der Begriff wird sowohl im Hinduismus als auch im Tantra-Buddhismus für die spirituelle Kraft verwendet.  
  Surya (Sanskrit, सूर्य [Das höchste, göttliche Licht]): Im Hinduismus die oberste Sonnengottheit. In der religiösen Hindu-Literatur wird der Surya häufig als die sichtbare Form der Gottheit gesehen, die man jeden Tag betrachten kann. Weiterhin sehen Shaivisten und Vaishnavisten in Surya einen Aspekt von Shiva und Vishnu. Die Veden bezeichnen ihn als die Personifizierung der Sonne.  
     
     
     

© 2004-2017