THE VIRTUAL MUSEUM OF KHMER ART
GLOSSARY

 

 

     
 
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 
     
  Pancaratra [five nights; five types of knowledge]: Devotional texts. The first sectarian movement within Hinduism whose followers worshiped Narayana, a form of Lord Vishnu. A forerunner of the modern form of Vaisnavism, the worship of Vishu.  
  Parvati (Sanskrit, पार्वती) [daughter of the mountains]: A Hindu godess, the consort of Shiva and the mother of Ganesha. She is the daughter of Himavat, the God of the Himalaya. Just as Shiva Parvati has the double aspect of destruction and rejuvenation. Primarily she personifies the lifegiving mother. Parvati is never shown angrily. Representing the aspect of destruction she is called Kali or Durga. Parvati is consistently depicted with bare breasts.  
  Phnom Da: About 15 miles from Angkor Borei Phnom Da ist one of the oldest Khmer sites dating back to the 6th century. Today the hill of Phnom Da is crowned by an impressive 11th century Angkorian-era brick and sandstone prasat [tower].  
  Phnom Da style (514-600?): The Phnom Da site gave the name to the art style which more or less unspecified covers the first autochthone Khmer art period.  
  Preah Khan [holy sword]: A famous temple at Angkor, built in 1191 for King Jayavarman VII. It is located northeast of Angkor Thom.  
  Pre Rup: The Shivaist temple mountain is located near Siem Reap and it is one of the most important Angkorian temples of the 10th century. It was built for the king Rajendravarman II ( 944–986) and dedicated 961 or 962.  
     
     
     

© 2004-2017

DAS VIRTUELLE MUSEUM DER KHMER-KUNST
GLOSSAR

 

 

     
 
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 
     
  Pancaratra [Fünf Nächte; fünf Arten des Wissens]: Religiöse Texte.Die erste sektiererische Bewegung innerhalb des Hinduismus, deren Anhänger Narayana, eine Form des Gottes Vishnu verehrten. Ein Vorgänger des modernen Vishnuismus, der Verehrung Vishnus.  
  Parvati (Sanskrit, पार्वती) [Tochter der Berge]: Eine hinduistische Göttin, die Gattin des Shiva und Mutter von Ganesha. Sie ist die Tochter von Himavat, dem Gott des Himalaya. Genauso wie Shiva hat Parvati den Doppelaspekt von Erhaltung und Zerstörung. Hauptsächlich verkörpert sie jedoch das Sinnbild der lebensspendenden, lebenserhaltenden Mutter. Als Parvati wird sie niemals als Zerstörende gezeigt. Verkörpert sie jedoch diesen Aspekt der Zerstörung, wird sie Kali oder Durga genannt. Parvati wird stets mit unbedeckten Brüsten dargestellt.  
  Phnom Da: Etwa 20 km von Angkor Borei entfernt ist Phnom Da eine der ältesten Khmer-Anlagen und datiert zurück bis in das 6. Jh. n. Chr. Heute ist der Hügel von Phnom Da von einem imposanten Ziegel-prasat [Turm] aus der Angkor-Zeit des 11. Jh. gekrönt.  
  Phnom Da-Stil (514-600?): Die Anlage von Phnom Da gab den Namen für den Kunststil, der mehr oder weniger unspezifiziert den ersten autochthonen Khmer-Stil umfaßt.  
  Preah Khan [heiliges Schwert]: Ein berühmter Tempel in Angkor, 1191 für den König Jayavarman VII. erbaut. Er liegt nordöstlich von Angkor Thom.  
  Pre Rup: Der shivaistische Tempelberg liegt in der Nähe von Siem Reap und ist einer der bedeutendsten Tempel der Angkor-Zeit des 10. Jh. Er wurde für den König Rajendravarman II. (944–986) gebaut und 961 oder 962 eingeweiht.  
     
     
     

© 2004-2017