THE VIRTUAL MUSEUM OF KHMER ART
ORIGIN

 

 

   

 

History always begins with legends. Here an Indian Brahmin named Kaundinya married Soma, the Funan queen and that was the beginning of the dynasties of the Funanese kings. The name Funan derives from the Chinese rendition of the old Khmer word bnam (meaning mountain). It is unknown until today what the Funanese called themselves.

Harder facts come from the first century B.C. when some city states likely with an austro-asiatic Mon population allied. The new kingdom centered in the lower Mekong delta. Its capital city Vyadharapura (town of the hunters) has not been found until today. We know about the strong Indian influences in language, law and religion at that time. Funan was an important station on the ocean routes and it regulated the sea trade between India and China by its efficient navy. Oc Eo was the most greatest seaport. The earliest facts date to the mid-3rd century A.C. (comp.: Chinese accounts). At that time Funan reached its furthest extent under the rule of king Fan Shi Man. Nearly all the neighbour states in Thailand, Malaysia and southern Burma collapsed. Only the giant Chinese Empire had the strength to act as political counterbalance.

Funan collapsed in the sixth century and was replaced by the Chenla kingdom. The cradle of Chenla laid in the region of Wat Phu in the south of Laos with its capital city Bhavapura. The last Funanese king Bhavavarman married a princess from the royal family of Chenla and they became the founders of the first Khmer empire.

© National Geography, 1973

 
 

© 2004-2017

DAS VIRTUELLE MUSEUM DER KHMER-KUNST
HERKUNFT

 

 

   

 

Geschichte beginnt meist mit Legenden. Hier heiratete ein indischer Brahmane namens Kaundinya Soma, die Königin von Funan. Das war der Beginn der Dynastien der Könige von Funan. Der Name Funan stammt wahrscheinlich aus der chinesischen Übernahme des alten Khmer-Wortes bnam (Berg). Wie sich die Funanesen selbst nannten ist nicht bekannt.

Härtere Fakten stammen aus dem ersten Jh. v. Chr., als sich einige Stadtstaaten mit wohl austro-asiatischer Mon-Bevölkerung verbündeten. Das neue Königreich hatte sein Zentrum im unteren Mekong Delta. Seine Hauptstadt Vyadharapura (Stadt der Jäger) wurde bis heute nicht gefunden. Der starke indischen Einfluß auf Sprache, Gesetzgebung und Religion in dieser Zeit ist vielfach belegt. Funan war eine bedeutende Station auf den Seerouten und es kontrollierte so den Seehandel zwischen Indien und China. Die wohl wichtigste Hafenstadt war Oc Eo. Die frühesten Nachweise datieren aus der Mitte des 3. Jh. n. Chr. (vgl. Chinesische Quellen). In dieser Zeit erreichte Funan seine größte Ausdehnung unter der Herrschaft des Königs Fan Shi Man. Nahezu alle Staatsgebilde in Thailand, Malaysia und im südlichen Burma brachen zusammen. Nur das riesenhafte chinesische Reich hatte die Macht ein politisches Gegengewicht zu bilden.

Im sechsten Jahrhundert brach Funan zusammen und wurde vom Chenla-Königreich ersetzt. Die Wiege von Chenla lag in der Gegend von Wat Phu im Süden von Laos mit der Hauptstadt Bhavapura. Bhavavarman, der letzte König von Funan, heiratete eine Prinzessin aus der königlichen Familie von Chenla. Diese wurden die Begründer des ersten Khmer-Reiches.

© National Geography, 1973

 

© 2004-2017